NASCAR lineup at Phoenix: Starting order, pole for 2023 championship race after qualifying

Chariots of fire.

For four of NASCAR’s finest, Sunday’s race at Phoenix Motor Speedway could prove life-changing.

LIVE: Updates, highlights from NASCAR championship race at Phoenix

The Cup Series Championship, hosted on the sun-scorched asphalt of “The Desert Oddball”, offers a few gifted racers the opportunity to secure their place in the annals of NASCAR history.

It tends to be an exciting affair, namely because it truly is winner-take-all. Stage points don’t matter. Neither do moral victories. Whichever playoff driver finishes highest takes the Cup Series crown. Every one else? Competing for second-best.

Between Ryan Blaney, Christopher Bell, William Byron and Kyle Larson, this year’s championship field contains the winners of 15 different races. Sweet No. 16 could prove to be the most valuable one yet. And it all starts on Saturday with qualifying results.

MORE: Watch NASCAR at Phoenix live with Fubo (free trial)

With that, here’s what you need to know about the pole and starting lineup for this year’s season finale, the Cup Series Championship.

Who won the pole for Phoenix in 2023?

William Byron took the pole for Sunday’s race, blazing past the rest of the field with the fastest lap time in qualifying. He outpaced Martin Truex Jr., who will join him in the front row. It’s the 12th career pole and fourth of the season for Byron.

NASCAR at Phoenix starting lineup 2023

Leading the field for Sunday night’s race are William Byron and Martin Truex Jr. Below is the rest of the starting lineup for the race:

Starting pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 William Byron (P) 24 Hendrick Motorsports
2 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
4 Kyle Larson (P) 5 Hendrick Motorsports
5 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
6 Denny Hamlin 11 23XI Racing
7 Erik Jones 43 Legacy Motor Club
8 Ross Chastain 1 Trackhouse Racing
9 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
10 Tyler Reddick 45 23XI Racing
11 Ty Gibbs 54 Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Ryan Preece 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
13 Christopher Bell (P) 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
14 Todd Gilliland 38 Front Row Motorsports
15 Ryan Blaney (P) 12 Team Penske
16 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing
17 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
18 Kyle Busch 8 Richard Childress Racing
19 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
20 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
21 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
22 Carson Hocevar 42 Legacy Motor Club
23 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
24 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
25 Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers Racing
26 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
27 Austin Cindric 2 Team Penske
28 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
29 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
30 Ryan Newman 51 Rick Ware Racing
31 Cole Custer 6 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
32 A.J. Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
33 Ty Dillon 77 Spire Motorsports
34 J.J. Yeley 15 Rick Ware Racing
35 Justin Haley 31 Kaulig Racing
36 B.J. McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports

(P) = Playoff driver 

Share with your friends!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get The Latest Sports News
Straight to your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.