NASCAR lineup at Martinsville: Starting order, pole for 2023 Cup Series race based on qualifying results

The Cup Series Championship looms for a quartet of NASCAR’s brightest talents.

Who will be there, competing for the ultimate hardware in stock car racing? Well, that’s still up in the air.

Kyle Larson and Christopher Bell sealed their spot in the Championship 4 with wins at Las Vegas and Miami-Homestead, respectively. With only one race remaining before the big dance — and two spots left to fill — things should be get interesting when the Cup Series travels down to Martinsville for the Xfinity 500.

The Paperclip has played host to some of the greatest moments in NASCAR’s lengthy history. But it’s hard to argue there was a more dramatic showcase than last year’s iteration the race, which saw Bell secure a spot in the Championship 4 via walkoff win. Oh, and Ross Chastain pulled off the greatest move in NASCAR history, ramming his car into the wall before rocketing beyond Denny Hamlin to punch his ticket to Phoenix.

What awaits us this year? Only time will tell. But whatever happens at Martinsville, it should prove exciting. The Paperclip doesn’t favor fools. And with six drivers — Christopher Buescher, Tyler Reddick, Ryan Blaney, William Byron, Martin Truex Jr. and Denny Hamlin — all having a shot, expect plenty of hard-nosed racing this weekend.

MORE: Watch NASCAR at Martinsville live with Fubo (free trial)

With that, here’s what you need to know about the pole and starting lineup for this year’s Xfinity 500.

Who won the pole for Martinsville in 2023?

Martin Truex Jr. took the pole for Sunday’s race, blazing past the rest of the field with the fastest lap time in qualifying. He outpaced Ty Gibbs, who will join him in the front row. It’s the 23rd career pole and third of the season for Truex.

NASCAR at Martinsville starting lineup 2023

Leading the field for Sunday night’s race are Truex and Gibbs. Below is the rest of the starting lineup for the race:

Starting pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Martin Truex Jr. (P) 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
2 Ty Gibbs 54 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
4 Denny Hamlin (P) 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 Kyle Larson (P) 5 Hendrick Motorsports
6 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
7 Christopher Bell (P) 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
8 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
9 Ryan Preece 44 Stewart-Haas Racing
10 Brad Keselowski 6 RFK Racing
11 Ryan Blaney (P) 12 Team Penske
12 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
13 Ross Chastain 1 Trackhouse Racing
14 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
15 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
16 William Byron (P) 24 Hendrick Motorsports
17 Todd Gilliland 38 Front Row Motorsports
18 Chase Buescher (P) 17 RFK Racing
19 Tyler Reddick (P) 45 23XI Racing
20 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
21 Austin Cindric 2 Team Penske
22 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
23 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
24 Justin Haley 31 Kaulig Racing
25 AJ Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
26 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
27 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing
28 Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers Racing
29 Erik Jones 43 Legacy Motor Club
30 Corey Lajoie 30 Spire Motorsports
31 Kyle Busch 8 Richard Childress Racing
32 Carson Hocevar 42 Legacy Motor Club
33 Ryan Newman 51 Rick Ware Racing
34 Ty Dillon 77 Spire Motorsports
35 JJ Yeley 15 Rick Ware Racing
36 BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports

(P) = Playoff driver 

Share with your friends!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get The Latest Sports News
Straight to your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.